Love you always and anyway.

In the best of times and in the worst of times always remember I love you always and anyway. This is just how parents love their children. I remind myself often that I am lucky to be loved always and anyway. There isn’t a moment in me that won’t feel this; it is a fact and a truth and a solid real thing.

You may wonder ‘what is always and anyway?’ Wonder no more, there needn’t be any extra thought in this. It is a fact, a piece of you to carry and know forever. I mean it. I love you always and anyway. It is the best kind of love. It is the kind that loves you when you are mean and cranky and your breath smells like garbage. I love you when you are sad and broken and small… and I want to use my love to help build you back up. I love you when you are mean to me, I love you even though you told me I am a terrible cooker, or you actually hate my singing voice. I love you then, partly because I know it isn’t true (I am a rock star cook and I could back up Stevie Nicks any day) but you were mad. Mad is important. Mad is big. Feel it, but please don’t tell me I am fat… that sucks (I prefer ready for winter). I will love you always and anyway with my extra insulation for emergencies, Christmas tree cutting and polar bear dips. I will love you when you are too cool for me and you insist I am not necessary to walk you five houses to the bus, I know you want your friends to ‘think’ I am uncool. I know your insides and your brain know that I am wicked cool. I will love you always and anyway on the day you don’t need me. I will also warn you if you choose to tell me my kisses are gross I will kiss you with really wet lips, I don’t have time for that kind of drama.

Do you know that I will love you right through your first big mistakes? I will love you the same, always and anyway. You will break rules and fear me, but I will love you anyway. I might react, I might yell… I might need to help you find a better path… but all along I will love you anyway. I might even sound like I don’t love you, sound like I have gone off the deep end… I promise I will apologize and be better in the morning- but I love you through it- always and anyway.

My love for you is different than any I have ever had. It has taught me to love me more, love me with more of that ‘anyway’ deal. Knowing and learning from you and helping to build you has made me know me more. I have come to understand the notion of love and loving someone, really everyone anyway. I have felt the deep blessing of waking up in the hardest moments of my life and being loved wholly and fully and genuinely. Those amazing people loved me anyway, they loved my broken, my fixed, my hurt and my light. You, my dear, have taught me that God loves me… not just enough to have you but He loves me always and anyway. There is no enough in loving…

Where did I learn to love always and anyway? I grew up hearing and learning about the Golden rule and Jesus… I have come to understand it more in my old age. Love everyone as I love you… or love them anyway… always and anyway. If they are sick show love. If they are well show love. If they are broken show love. If they are happy show love. Basically, God says show love… just like I love you. He loves us in all of those states. He made us to feel all of those things and He loves us through them. I think the biggest grace in this is the anyway part. God loves us anyway. He reminds us regularly that He loves us broken, fixed, hurt, happy, proud, sad, mean… He loves us always and anyway. I also know that He wants us to do the right thing in those moments. He loves us when we are unkind to a friend, but He wants us to apologize and get back to loving that friend always and anyway. He even lets us love always and anyway through boundaries… He is kind like that. Sometimes letting go of a person and keeping them farther from your soul is loving them always and anyway. He knows that some people just break others… so boundaries and distance are rockin’ good tools. So love like Him- always and anyways.

I love you, the best way. I love you always and anyways. I will love you when you call me for a ride because you broke rules, I will love you when you lie and sneak out. I am made for you, you for me- we are made for we… we are made to love each other anyway- always. This is the best kind of love. I want you to carry this in your pile of truths. I want you to love others this way, it is amazing to be loved always and anyway. It is amazing to be loved for your quirks and your mistakes. It is the very best kind of love, the kind He made us for. Remember this as you move and live and grow and breathe… as you wonder if you are loved…

Leave a Reply

